Internship and standing up.

 

I said yesterday that I was going to write a little about what I do during the days know. So here goes

Right know I’m taking a class in service an selling (sort of) with focus on reception and customer service.
So currently I’m having an internship at the reception of a a Choice Hotel in the town I live in.
I love it there, i get to do a lot, everyone is so nice to me and I really feel like it’s giving me something (If it ends in giving me a job, that would be great)

The only thing I can complain about is standing up, 8 hours a day. At the end of the first days I had pain in parts of my feet I didn’t even knew existed.
I’ve figured out a few things to think of when it comes to caring for your feet if you stand up a lot, so here are what I do:

1.Shoes!
Make sure you have good and comfortable shoes, and if you buy new shoes, walk around in them for a while at home to get used to them before taking them to work. Later in this post you’ll see the two pairs I use.

2. One word, Pedicure!
Take care of your feet. Feel tired after a long day and your feet ache? Take a foot bath with some calming salts and end with massaging in a foot lotion. It’s up to you if you want to scrub away the calluses, for some people they actually give more support while standing. Personally, I hate calluses, so be gone!

3. Blood flow
When you get home, sit down and put your feet in a high position to helt eventual swelling and help the blood flow.

4. Compression stockings.
I recently was introduced to this particular item of clothing, and I’m hooked.
A compression stocking is a knee high stocking or pantyhose that helps the blood flow, it presses harder on your ancle than usuall stockings to prevent the upgoing blood from going back down in the foot. I think they work wonders.

5. Sit down
When you get the chance, even if only for a few seconds. Sit down. The short rest might not feel like much at the moment, but it might help you later in the day.

 

Now, here are the two pairs of shoes I use at work.

image

A pair of flats.
I used these the first two weeks while I was getting used to standing so much, they might not look it but these are actually soft in the sole.

image

Low heels.
These are the ones I use now, They are comfy, softer than they look and I really like how they look.
I usually walk with these to the hotel and back home. I also use these when (if) I’m going outside on the weekends.

 

And a little bonus!

image

My latest manicure. I decided to just use my normal frenh manicure as a base and add a little pink and champagne color to it. Simple and nice.

Well well. Now I’m leaving the computer to lie down in a bath that my boyfriend fixed for me

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

