Winter is coming – Lip Guide Part 2, Products

Winter is coming – Lip guide Part 1, Care


Picture from Here

Here is the second part of my Winter is coming – Lip Guide
This time I will talk about products.

During winter it’s important to take good care of your lips.
Here are some products and home remedies to keep your lips soft.

1. Exfoliate

Scrubing your lips removes dead skin so that your moisturizer can reach better.

Products

I have actually only tried one exfoliating products for my lips

The Body Shop Lip Scuff
This one smells like sweet-mint and have small grains in it to exfoliate. I use this 2-3 times a week and I really like it, it’s gentle but it sill does what it says.
I usually just sort of buff this on my lips in small circular motions and then leave it for a few minutes before I rinse it of. I put it on when I start my nightly facial routine and remove it at the end of my routime.
I would recomend this product. but I want to try other lip scrubs to.

Home Remedies

Honey and sugar scrub.
This is really simple, you take a little bit of honey and just add sugar until you get a nice paste, scrub your lips with it and leave on for a couple of minutes. The honey acts moisturizing while the sugar exfoliates.

Personally I don’t like thiis one, but I have a mayor problem with sticky on my lips. I can barely have lip gloss.
But I have done this a few tomes and it works.

2. Moisturize

Here are my review on some product. And a warning in the end.

The Body Shop – Sweet Lemon Lip Butter

I bought this one somewhere in December last year. I’d gotten a coconut lip balm in my Body Shop Calendar, and I really don’t like coconut. So I gave that one to a friend and bought this one for myself. I wanted to get the Pink Grapefruit one, but they were out. So I’ll buy it some other day.

Pros
A good moisturizer
Not to sticky
Nice Lemon Scent.

Cons
The Taste. It has a sweet taste. It’s not horrible, but I’m not a big fan of it.
Tub. I almost only have lip balms in tubs, I acctually don’t mind, but it can get pretty disgusting to put your fingers in it over and over again. I usually carry hand-sanitizer, that I use before. But still.

Försvarets Hudsalva

I don’t really know how I should translate the name. But it’s a salve made by and originally for the swedish military to treat chafing. Normally it comes in a military green tube, but I prefer buying the pink one since it looks better in my bag, and it’s easier to find. They have a pink ribbon one to, I just haven’t gotten my hands on that one yet. The smell is said to be vanilla, but I think it’s really neutral.
You can literally use this for everything. Dry elbows/feet/lips, chafing. Rub it on your face to prevent frostbite. You can even cook in it, but I’ve never tried that. I’ve only tried it for my lips though.

Pros
Really good moisturizer
Easy application.
Many uses.
The smell is discreet.
The packaging. This is easy to use even with gloves on.

Cons I only have one con, but its really worth mentioning.
Peanut Oil – I do not understand how something thats developed for military use contains peanut oil. Peanuts are the most common allergenic agent. I myself is not allergic to peanuts, but I still think that the fact is really annoying.

Overall I really like this product. But usually this is my night treatment. During the days i use my other products.

Rosebud Perfume Co – Strawberry Lip Balm, Minted Rose Lip Balm and Rosebud Salve

I have used the minted rose one off ad on for a few years and the others for about a month. I love these. The strawberry one however is a litle less moisturizing, but I don’t really mind

Pros
Works like a charm.
These tubs litterally lasts forever
The Scents. I love the smell of these. Not to artificial, even though it’s strawberry we’re talking about.
The tubs. I could have gotten the strawberry and the rose one in tubes, but I love the look of these tubs. Might get the tubes for the winter though, since they are glove friendly.
Slightly glossy For a girl who’s not a fan of lip gloss. This is wonderfull.

Cons
If you put on to much it gets thick and sticky.
If you keep them in your pocket they get really soft.

Overall these will always have a place in my heart and in my bag.
They have a mocha rose lip balm that I’m dying to try. I’ve heard it’s a bit chocolate, vanilla, coffee scented. But I havenät had the chance since I couldn’t find it where I live.

Dislikes

The Body Shop – 100% Natural Lip Roll On, Mint

I don’t know if it’s me or this product, but I never really fell in love with it. I love the packaging and the roll on applicator, but the product doesn’t really give me anything. I probably wont use much until next year since this feels more like a summer product. That might just be my opinion because it’s an oil and not a balm, so it feels thinner. Really love the smell of mint and it fells slightly tingly and cooling on my lips. I might change my mind on this one if I use it for a long time, but it’s not a product I reach for. It might be because I always forget to shake it.

Pros
Smart Applicator
Nice smell
Nice feeling

Cons
Doesn’t feel like it’s working

They have this one in other scents, so I might try that to see if I like those better. Because this is really a product that I want to love due to the 100% Natural part. so rose and orange are the other scents I’d like to try.

Now to my warning.

Lypsyl

This is a Swedich product that was createt in the begining of the 1900 and are now sold worldwide I think. (I have absolutely nothing against the company who makes them, btw)

I don’t usually hate products, I can often loathe them, but not hate. But this one, is on my hate list.
I have nothing good to say about this product. It works for the moment for about 30 minutes, the, your lips are drier than before and you need more and more of this product to get through the day.

To the products defence and to clarify my long hatred for this one. That’s how I felt about this product when I last used it, when I was around 10 years old. But since then I’d rather go without lip balms than use this one. So maybe I should buy one and try it out to see what I think now. But that’s probably not going to happen.

Well. That was the second part of my Winter is Coming – Lip Guide

I’m thinking of doing more winter is coming posts, about hair, body and face. Is that anything that would interest my readers? In that case, what parts would you want? Leave a comment.

Tomorrow and on saturday I’m going to two halloween parties. So I’ll have some halloween make ups to show you after that. Hopefully the guys I’m going to help with their make up will let me post pictures of them to.

Please comment if there’s anything especial you want me to write about.

Ciao

6 thoughts on “Winter is coming – Lip Guide Part 2, Products

  1. […] Winter is coming – Lip guide Part 2, Products. […]

  2. Rebecca says:

    I have the body shop lip scrup thingie! Had it like 4years and never use it now. I thought that it didn’t scrub away the dead skin properly and it left my lips really sore and dry after using it for a while. But maby I’m sensative! Just my opinion 🙂 hihi Yeah do some more like tips on face moisturizing! Winter hates me! Bye! ^^

    • Make sure you use a really good lip balm afterwards since scrubbing can be drying no matter where on the body it is. And if your lips are dry now, moisturize them for a few days so that they are soft before scrubbing the first time. But if you tend to have dry lips the sugar/honey scrub nicht be better for you.

      Winter actually hates me too this year, my entire body is dry. So I’ll probably do some more in this series

  3. […] Here are the earlier posts in my winter is coming Series Winter is Coming – Lip guide Part 1, Care Winter is Coming Lip Guide, Part 2, Products […]

  4. […] is Coming – Lip guide Part 1, Care Winter is Coming – Lip guide Part 2, Products Winter is Coming – Hand […]

  5. […] is Coming – Lip guide Part 1, Care Winter is Coming – Lip guide Part 2, Products Winter is Coming – Hand Guide Winter is Coming – Feet […]

Leave a Reply

